Are Religions becoming Green?

Religious communities are able to address climate change and other environmental challenges. They can use their public voice to lobby for progressive climate policies, disseminate pro-environmental values among their members, and undertake projects to improve the carbon footprint of their institutions (e.g. energy efficient refurbishments). However, it is unclear to what extent religious communities in Switzerland are undertaking such activities and contribute to solve existing environmental challenges. 

Scholarship suggests that religious traditions and communities become more environmentally aware and engaged over time. Although the topic has increasingly received attention in recent years, there is still little expertise about religious environmentalism at the congregational level. Yet, research at the congregational level is particularly important, given that congregations constitute important mediators of environmental engagement between the macro-level leadership of religious communities and the micro-level membership. Congregations can disseminate “green” theologies and environmental programs, which the leadership initiated, among the local membership. At the same time, they can promote religious grass-roots initiatives, which started at the local level, towards the leadership or expand them towards other local congregations.

This project will identify (a) to what extent congregations in Switzerland are environmentally engaged, (b) what types of environmental engagement they undertake, and (c) under what circumstances they are most likely to be environmentally engaged. To this end, the research team conducts a survey about the environmental engagement of congregations. The project will contribute to the increasing international debates about religious environmental engagement by exploring the mechanisms of this engagement.

The project is being conducted under the direction of Prof. Dr. Jens Köhrsen at the Center for Religion, Economics and Politics (ZRWP) at the University of Basel. The team consists of Dr. Julia Blanc, Fabian Huber, Anabel Da Pra, Ann-Lea Buzzi and Julius Malin.

The study is being conducted in collaboration with the project "Switzerland's changing religious diversity. The National Congregations Study Switzerland II", which is being conducted at the University of Lausanne under the direction of Prof. Dr. Jörg Stolz.

Are Religions becoming Green?

Religionsgemeinschaften verfügen über einflussreiche Ressourcen, um sich ökologischen Problemen wie dem Klimawandel anzunehmen. Sie können sich für eine fortschrittliche Klimapolitik einsetzen, Projekte zur Verbesserung der CO2-Bilanz durchführen (z.B. energieeffiziente Renovierungsmassnahmen) und unter ihren Mitgliedern umweltfreundliches Verhalten fördern. Auf diese Weise können Religionsgemeinschaften zur Lösung ökologischer Herausforderungen beitragen und den nachhaltigen Wandel vorantreiben. Jedoch ist unklar, in welchem Ausmass sich Religionsgemeinschaften in der Schweiz ökologisch engagieren.

Aktuelle wissenschaftliche Positionen legen nahe, dass Religionen zunehmend umweltbewusster werden und sich ökologisch engagieren. Obwohl das Thema in den letzten Jahren zunehmend an Aufmerksamkeit gewonnen hat, gibt es kaum empirische Untersuchungen, die ermitteln, ob Religionsgemeinschaften auf lokaler Ebene (z.B. lokale Kirchengemeinden) tatsächlich «grüner» werden. Forschung auf dieser Ebene ist besonders wichtig, da lokale Gemeinschaften zentrale Vermittlungsstellen zwischen der Makroebene der jeweiligen religiösen Traditionen (religiöse Dachverbände) und der Mikroebene der Mitglieder sind. Gemeinschaften können «grüne» Theologien und Umweltprogramme, die von der Leitung initiiert wurden, unter den Mitgliedern verbreiten. Gleichzeitig können sie lokale Basisinitiativen fördern oder auf andere lokale Gemeinschaften ausweiten.

Dieses Projekt wird ermitteln, (a) inwieweit lokale religiöse Gemeinschaften («Congregations») in der Schweiz ökologisch engagiert sind, (b) welche Arten von Umweltengagement sie betreiben und (c) welche Faktoren ihr Umweltengagement beeinflussen. Zu diesem Zweck führt das Forschungsteam eine Umfrage unter Schweizer Religionsgemeinschaften durch. Das Projekt wird einen zentralen Beitrag zu den wachsenden internationalen Debatten über religiöses Umweltengagement leisten, indem es erklärt, welche Faktoren das religiöse Umweltengagement fördern (oder blockieren).

Das Projekt wird unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Jens Köhrsen am Zentrum für Religion, Wirtschaft und Politik (ZRWP) an der Universität Basel durchgeführt. Das Team besteht aus Dr. Julia Blanc, Fabian Huber, Anabel Da Pra, Ann-Lea Buzzi und Julius Malin.

Die Durchführung der Studie erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt "Switzerland's changing religious diversity. The National Congregations Study Switzerland II", welches an der Universität Lausanne unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Jörg Stolz durchgeführt wird.