Religion and Environmentalism

Our research team at the University of Basel explores the role of religion in socio-ecological transformations. To this end, we apply qualitative and quantitative research methods and draw upon approaches from sustainability research, sociological theory and religious studies.

Two projects financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation enable us to analyse the environmental activities of religious communities as well as the religious dimensions of “secular” environmentalism. From 2018 to 2021, we conducted qualitative interviews with representatives of religious communities and urban transition actors in Germany and Switzerland as part of the "Urban Green Religions" project. In the subsequent project "Are Religions becoming Green", we will undertake a quantitative study about the environmental commitment of congregations in Switzerland.

Public Lectures on Religion and Climate Change

Hereby,  we would like to announce two public lectures on religion and climate change, organized by the Centre for Religion, Economy, and Politics.

Prof. Dr. Bron Taylor (University of Florida): “Environmental Behavior and Climate Change: Analyzing Green and Dark Green Religion”, 08.04.2021 at 16:15-18:00 (Swiss Time)

Prof. Dr. Katharina Glaab (Norwegian University of Life Sciences): “Religion in International Climate Negotiations”, 22.04.2021 at 16:15-18:00 (Swiss Time)

If you would like to register for the lectures, please write an informal email to Ms. Anabel Da Pra (anabel.dapra@clutterunibas.ch), just mentioning “registration for lectures on religion and climate change” by 5th April. After registering, you will receive a Zoom-Link for the lectures by 7th April.

Religion und ökologischer Wandel

Unser Forschungsteam an der Universität Basel erforscht die Rolle von Religion in sozial-ökologischen Transformationen. Dazu wenden wir qualitative und quantitative Forschungsmethoden an und greifen auf Ansätze aus der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, der soziologischen Theorie und der Religionswissenschaft zurück.

Zwei vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds finanzierte Projekte ermöglichen es uns, die Umweltaktivitäten religiöser Gemeinschaften sowie die religiösen Dimensionen eines "säkularen" Umweltbewusstseins zu analysieren. Von 2018 bis 2021 führten wir im Rahmen des Projekts "Urban Green Religions" qualitative Interviews mit Vertretern von Religionsgemeinschaften und urbanen Transformationsakteuren in Deutschland und der Schweiz. Im Folgeprojekt "Are Religions becoming Green" werden wir eine quantitative Studie über das Umweltengagement von Gemeinden in der Schweiz durchführen.

Öffentliche Vorträge zu Religion und Klimawandel

Hiermit möchten wir zwei öffentliche Vorträge über Religion und Klimawandel ankündigen, die vom Zentrum für Religion, Wirtschaft und Politik organisiert werden.

- Prof. Dr. Bron Taylor (Universität von Florida): "Environmental Behavior and Climate Change: Analyzing Green and Dark Green Religion", 08.04.2021 um 16:15-18:00 (Schweizer Zeit)

- Prof. Dr. Katharina Glaab (Norwegian University of Life Sciences): "Religion in internationalen Klimaverhandlungen", 22.04.2021 um 16:15-18:00 Uhr (Schweizer Zeit)

Wenn Sie sich für die Vorträge anmelden möchten, schreiben Sie bitte bis zum 5. April eine formlose E-Mail an Frau Anabel Da Pra (anabel.dapra@clutterunibas.ch) mit dem Vermerk "Anmeldung für Vorträge zu Religion und Klimawandel". Nach der Anmeldung erhalten Sie bis zum 7. April einen Zoom-Link zu den Vorträgen.